top of page

My Family and our Autism Journey by Heather

My name is Heather and my family is just Quinlan and I. We live in Chapeltown, with my sisters and families close by. We like to go to new places and do new things. We were always out and about but much less now Quinlan is a teenager. My hobbies are crafts, tv, doing courses, Pokemon go and nutrition. Quinlan loves writing, learning about investment opportunities, spiritual stuff, computer games and music.


From a nursery age I knew there was something unique about Quinlan and at the age of 6 he was diagnosed with ADHD, following a year later with an Aspergers diagnosis.

We both struggled through mainstream infants and Junior school, with daily issues, getting by with

the help of supportive school, teachers, SENCO and my sister. Using Alternative provision, shorter days and flexi schooling to make it until Y 6, when I was finally able to get him in a school more suited to his needs. Fighting the LA, from the start of his EHCP until they finally agreed to the school of our choice, this took the whole of junior school.


Through the mainstream years I initially had my own craft business and worked in a nursery over lunch time, but the stress of getting him an EHCP and the fight to get him into special school took its toll and I had to give up my craft business. I still work in a nursery, which works for both of us right now.


Quinlan now has a PDA profile but being in a school that understands that is making schooling less stressful for both of us. He is a budding entrepreneur and is planning on having his own business when he leaves school, if not before!! I am hoping to one day go back to working full time, but Quinlan knows I will be here to support him in whatever he chooses to do.


80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page